Icarus

In this hyper-linked world life seems to be linked rather than lived. I was writing my notes of a book, “Why read” by Mark Edmundson, I finished reading a few weeks ago. In the first chapter the author quoted from a poem by William Carlos Williams. I went look for it and found the poem “Asphodel, That Greeny Flower”.

“My heart rouses thinking to bring you news of something that concerns you and concerns many men.

Look at what passes for the new. You will not find it there but in despised poems.

It is difficult to get the news from poems yet men die miserably every day for lack of what is found there.

Hear me out for I too am concerned and every man who wants to die at peace in his bedbesides.”

Of course out of curiosity I looked at his other works and ended up with Landscape With The Fall Of Icarus.

“a splash quite unnoticed this was Icarus drowning”

Who was Icarus? I asked. Then I read the Wikipedia entry Icarus-mythology; flew too close to the sun, melted wings and all; great story, wonderful words, though provoking…

Daring we may want to be, be all and have all,

nature planted in us boundaries, subtle yet obvious,

oblivious of all as we may try to be unbounded,

trapped unless we find freedom within what freedom meant to be, not as creator but as created.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

